Books By Brett Riley

Author picture

Brett Riley is professor of English at the College of Southern Nevada. He grew up in southeastern Arkansas and earned his Ph.D. in contemporary American fiction and film at Louisiana State University. The published author of a body of short fiction, and the ghost thriller, “Comanche,” Riley has also won numerous awards for screenwriting. Riley lives in Henderson, Nevada.

Comanche: A Novel

by Brett Riley

LIKE THE CYLINDER IN A SIX SHOOTER, WHAT GOES AROUND, COMES AROUND. In a tiny Texas town, a team of investigators tries to solve a string of murders that appear to be linked to a Wild West gunslinger’s brutal death two hundred years ago.
"Debut novelist Riley tells a quite deliciously twisted tale. The novel is a lot of fun, with a very entertaining story and a great cast of characters."— David Pitt, Booklist. (04/10/20)
"COWBOY GHOSTS AND A MURDER MYSTERY!!!!!! I love westerns so much. Possibly the only thing I love more than westerns is a good crime fiction story. And the only thing I love more than a good crime fiction story is a legit, scare-your-pants-off ghost story. This book has it all! With different chapters taking place in different years, the reader gets to experience The Kid’s post-mortem reign of terror in two different centuries. Four Stars!"—Shannon Bollig, Bookish.in.Boston (06/30/20)
"One of the best meldings of the traditional detective novels and the supernatural that I’ve read in recent history. I really enjoyed this book. It’s more ghost adventure than detective mystery, but if that’s what you’re in the mood for, you’ll enjoy Comanche. 4-Stars"— Kristopher McClanahan, Tabletops and Tentacles -- (06/05/20)
"Brett Riley's COMANCHE is the best western-horror-thriller-ghost story-PI novel ever written. COMANCHE is a rollicking ride. Fans of Joe Lansdale and James Lee Burke, Brett Riley is the author you didn't know you loved." —Tod Goldberg, author of Gangsterland and Gangster Nation. (02/28/20)
"I loved this book. From the very beginning, I was immediately hooked. Stayed up all night to finish it and am glad I did! 5 Stars"—Kacee Merritt, Librarian, Lexington County Public Library, South Carolina. (02/06/20)
" A well-written action packed tale of a revenge that will not quit. Great read. 5 stars."—Cherime MacFarlane, NetGalley.com, (01/14/20)
Read more...