Books

Books and other published items

Urban Fly Fishing in Dallas–Fort Worth

by Greg DeMars

The urban creeks of the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex are just around the corner, and full of fish. Join long-time Dallas resident and dedicated fly angler Greg DeMars as he expertly guides you through the hidden world of urban creeks in the fourth-largest metropolitan area in the United States. Read more...

A Coin for the Ferryman

by Megan Edwards

He came. He saw. She conquered.
In 1999, an elite interdisciplinary team headed by Nobel laureate Andrew Danicek gathered in California to carry out a ground-breaking time-travel experiment. While the rest of the world remained unaware, Julius Caesar was successfully transported from his last Ides of March to a specially-constructed covert facility.
"Fascinating characters and their often sad stories coalesce into an unforgettably wonderful tale of time travel and its consequences, thrilling one moment, tragic the next. In its diversity of settings and languages, its intelligent combination of experimental science with high culture, A Coin for the Ferryman creates a world in which Caesar emerges as a grand figure who is also a believably flesh-and-bone man, unperplexed by any adventure. Colossus though he is, Caesar cannot distract a reader from Cassandra, whose honesty and sensitivity render her a woman too strong to be hobbled even by historical inevitability."--W. Jeffrey Tatum, best-selling author of Always I Am Caesar, The Patrician Tribune, and Professor of Classics at The Victoria University of Wellington. (06/08/2021)
"Unfolding at the pace of a well-constructed Hollywood drama, Megan Edwards’s A Coin for the Ferryman takes the reader from the ancient world to 20th century Las Vegas. Weird science, romance, intrigue, car chases, road trips, chopper rides, and the unexpected vagaries of the heart—this one’s got it all. Come for the time travel. Stay for the powerful examination of the enduring human spirit."--Brett Riley, author of The Subtle Dance of Impulse and Light, Comanche, Lord of Order and Freaks. (06/04/2021)
Read more...

Freaks

by Brett Riley

Hunted by monsters. Wanted for questioning. Late for class. Four high-school friends suffer daily humiliation at the hands of three bullies. When the friends accidentally open a portal to another dimension, they unintentionally allow terrifying, other-worldly creatures to invade their small Arkansas town. Read more...

Base Camp Reno: 101 Hikes from Sage to Snow

by Christopher & Elizabeth Barile

Reno: A Base Camp for All Seasons Ideally positioned between the spectacular peaks and lakes of California’s Sierra Nevadas and the vast and varied Great Basin of Nevada, Reno is an unparalleled hub for exploring the natural beauty and grandeur this region offers. The area’s four-season climate combined with year-round sun guarantees that every day can be a great day to go exploring. Read more...

A Sports Fan’s Guide to Route 66

by Ron Clements

Get Your Balls, Bats, and Sticks on Route 66! A brand new book that highlights historic sports venues, storied sports professionals, and current sports events along the Mother Road.
" It's all here, from rodeo to rugby, from landmark locations and legends of sports to the glory of local high school athletics. Loaded with fascinating trivia, roadside attractions, and eye-popping photographs, this book is a grand-slam!"--Jim Ross, author of Oklahoma Route 66 and Route 66 Crossings. (02/26/2021)
"A guidebook to seeing all the sports landmarks you'd never thought to see. It's pure fun."--Jeff Pearlman, New York Times, best-selling author of nine books, including Boys Will Be Boys, Three-Ring Circus, Football for a Buck, The Rocket that Fell to Earth, The Sweetness, The Gunslinger, Love Me, Hate Me and The Bad Guys Won. (02/26/2021)
Read more...

Purchase A Sports Fan’s Guide to Route 66

Blimey, I’m Knackered! An American’s Survival Guide to British English

by Marshall Hall

Any American who has ever visited the UK can report humorous or awkward interchanges in which communication broke down. Why? Because while the two countries share a common language, there are profound—and often confusing—differences in usage, colloquialisms, terminology, and slang. Read more...

Purchase Blimey, I’m Knackered! An American’s Survival Guide to British English

I Mean You No Harm

by Beth Castrodale

I Mean You No Harm
The enemy of my enemy is my sister Her father is a career criminal, her mother the victim of an unsolved murder. When her long-estranged half-sister suggests a cross-country road trip with a sketchy but gripping goal, a young artist embarks on an odyssey into the very heart of danger.
"I Mean You No Harm is many things: murder mystery, adventure tale, page-turning thriller. But at its heart, the story is a tender exploration of family, betrayal, and self-discovery. Ms. Castrodale seamlessly unites all these elements for a fast-paced, unforgettable read."--Amanda Skenandore, award-winning author of The Undertaker's Assistant and Between Earth and Sky. (01/22/21)
"Beth Castrodale brings her considerable talent for prose to crime fiction in a novel layered with insight about the human experience. This fast-paced and expertly plotted literary thriller will keep you on the edge of your seat. You’ll continue to think about the richly drawn characters who inhabit the story, particularly the estranged sisters whose relationship sits at the core of the novel, long after you read the final sentence. Tense, exciting, and full of heart, I MEAN YOU NO HARM will keep you turning pages long into the night!"--Edwin Hill, Edgar- and Agatha-nominated author of Watch Her. (01/23/21)
"Filled with quiet humor and keen observations, this novel turns up the heat page by page, pushing the protagonist to her limits."--Audrey Schulman, award-winning author of Theory of Bastards and The Cage. (01/03/21)
Read more...

Lord of Order

by Brett Riley

The Purge is here. New Orleans must die. Six conflicted conspirators gird for battle, fully aware that the looming apocalypse will demand horrific choices, test their faith, and require them to join forces with their sworn enemies.
“Darkly humorous and brutal, Lord of Order takes readers on a violent gun-slinging wade through a visceral, blood-soaked swamp of human frailty and redemption ... I’ll be searching out the author’s back catalogue whilst awaiting the sequel.”—Lee Doughty, GrimDark Magazine
“A convincingly bleak vision of the future … Those who like their dystopias especially gritty will want to take a look.”Publishers Weekly
“The past is future in this sweaty, swampy, gun-slinging first cousin to dystopian classics like The Handmaid’s Tale and Fahrenheit 451. Lord of Order crackles. Grab your gear, double down on the ammo, Brett Riley’s dystopian action thriller will have you reaching for a whisky and your six-shooter.”—Stephen Scott Whitaker, National Book Critics Circle.
“Brett Riley writes hardcore action, his literary point the hypocrisy and perfidy of extremist fundamentalisms that trample all freedom and humanity.”—Douglas Unger, author of Pulitzer finalist Leaving the Land
Read more...

Comanche: A Novel

by Brett Riley

LIKE THE CYLINDER IN A SIX SHOOTER, WHAT GOES AROUND, COMES AROUND. In a tiny Texas town, a team of investigators tries to solve a string of murders that appear to be linked to a Wild West gunslinger’s brutal death two hundred years ago.
"A clever, imaginative blend of literary fiction, historical fiction, horror, dark humor, and detective procedural."— Si Dunn, Lone Star Literary Life. (10/25/2020)
"Debut novelist Riley tells a quite deliciously twisted tale. The novel is a lot of fun, with a very entertaining story and a great cast of characters."— David Pitt, Booklist. (04/10/20)
"COWBOY GHOSTS AND A MURDER MYSTERY!!!!!! I love westerns so much. Possibly the only thing I love more than westerns is a good crime fiction story. And the only thing I love more than a good crime fiction story is a legit, scare-your-pants-off ghost story. This book has it all! With different chapters taking place in different years, the reader gets to experience The Kid’s post-mortem reign of terror in two different centuries. Four Stars!"—Shannon Bollig, Bookish.in.Boston (06/30/20)
"One of the best meldings of the traditional detective novels and the supernatural that I’ve read in recent history. I really enjoyed this book. It’s more ghost adventure than detective mystery, but if that’s what you’re in the mood for, you’ll enjoy Comanche. 4-Stars"— Kristopher McClanahan, Tabletops and Tentacles -- (06/05/20)
"Brett Riley's COMANCHE is the best western-horror-thriller-ghost story-PI novel ever written. COMANCHE is a rollicking ride. Fans of Joe Lansdale and James Lee Burke, Brett Riley is the author you didn't know you loved." —Tod Goldberg, author of Gangsterland and Gangster Nation. (02/28/20)
Read more...

Fly Fishing Austin & Central Texas

by Aaron Reed

The ultimate "Go fishing now!" guide to angling in central Texas. Discover 49 "wades & paddles" on 12 featured streams, all within an hour of downtown Austin. The Local Angler: Fly Fishing Austin and Central Texas was released by Imbrifex Books in May 2020.
“This book is the Bible of Central Texas Fly Fishing"―Jim Gebhart,On the Fly Magazine, (05/12/20)
"I found it to be a mesmerizing manifesto on sampling all the good things in life in the heart of the Lone Star State - yes fishing, but also local cuisine, backcountry hiking, communing with comrades, canoeing/kayaking, bird-watching, and conservationist riverkeeping. "―Chad McPhail, author of 49 Trout Streams of Southern Colorado, Between Fact and Fishin',
"Everything from general fly fishing information like lingo, gear, and ethics, to fish identification and tips for getting children out on the water. There is also an abundance of high-quality photos. He ranks the best ways to access the water, includes info on the best local brewery to hit after fishing, suggests a good song for that particular stretch, and other fun tidbits. This is a great read to have on your shelf."―Katie Burgert, Fish Untamed
"Aaron Reed is a darn fine writer with a great eye for detail. It is one of the best region-focused resources on fly fishing I've seen in a long time"—Kirk Deeter, Trout Unlimited Magazine, (July 2020)
"Austin TX is a gateway to a magical world of fly fishing. Aaron Reed brings a jeweler's eye for detail, a keen sense of place and the meditative skills of a tug boat captain. Anglers will be rewarded not only with access to new waters but the proper playlist and bank-side restaurant to seal the deal"—Phil Shook, author of Flyfisher's Guide to Texas and Flyfishers Guide to the Northeast Coast.
“It is basically a treasure map that gives you the tools and knowledge you need to fish on your own in Central Texas. I really enjoyed Part 5 of Aaron’s book called 'Ankle Bitters and Other Wildlife.' Also, his recommendations on music and nearby watering holes gives you a glimpse into Aaron’s mind and is a fun way to walk in his soggy river shoes."―Davin Topel, Whiskey River Chronicles (05/01/20)
"The book is extremely rich in photography, creatively designed and organized, and keyed nicely with design elements (icons) to call attention to details about waters, and just as important - your musical soundtrack. This book will change your plans for 2020 and beyond."—Shannon Drawe, Texas Fly Caster, (04/26/20)
"I think every reader will connect with different chapters based on their individuality, but no doubt there are remarkable fisheries in the book for everyone - from expert to newbie, from children to the elderly, from guys to gals - the fish are here for all of us to enjoy." texansonthefly.com (01/23/20)
Read more...