Fiction Titles

A Coin for the Ferryman

by Megan Edwards

He came. He saw. She conquered.
In 1999, an elite interdisciplinary team headed by Nobel laureate Andrew Danicek gathered in California to carry out a ground-breaking time-travel experiment. While the rest of the world remained unaware, Julius Caesar was successfully transported from his last Ides of March to a specially-constructed covert facility.
"Fascinating characters and their often sad stories coalesce into an unforgettably wonderful tale of time travel and its consequences, thrilling one moment, tragic the next. In its diversity of settings and languages, its intelligent combination of experimental science with high culture, A Coin for the Ferryman creates a world in which Caesar emerges as a grand figure who is also a believably flesh-and-bone man, unperplexed by any adventure. Colossus though he is, Caesar cannot distract a reader from Cassandra, whose honesty and sensitivity render her a woman too strong to be hobbled even by historical inevitability."--W. Jeffrey Tatum, best-selling author of Always I Am Caesar, The Patrician Tribune, and Professor of Classics at The Victoria University of Wellington. (06/08/2021)
"Unfolding at the pace of a well-constructed Hollywood drama, Megan Edwards’s A Coin for the Ferryman takes the reader from the ancient world to 20th century Las Vegas. Weird science, romance, intrigue, car chases, road trips, chopper rides, and the unexpected vagaries of the heart—this one’s got it all. Come for the time travel. Stay for the powerful examination of the enduring human spirit."--Brett Riley, author of The Subtle Dance of Impulse and Light, Comanche, Lord of Order and Freaks. (06/04/2021)
Read more...

Freaks

by Brett Riley

Hunted by monsters. Wanted for questioning. Late for class. Four high-school friends suffer daily humiliation at the hands of three bullies. When the friends accidentally open a portal to another dimension, they unintentionally allow terrifying, other-worldly creatures to invade their small Arkansas town. Read more...

I Mean You No Harm

by Beth Castrodale

I Mean You No Harm
The enemy of my enemy is my sister Her father is a career criminal, her mother the victim of an unsolved murder. When her long-estranged half-sister suggests a cross-country road trip with a sketchy but gripping goal, a young artist embarks on an odyssey into the very heart of danger.
"I Mean You No Harm is many things: murder mystery, adventure tale, page-turning thriller. But at its heart, the story is a tender exploration of family, betrayal, and self-discovery. Ms. Castrodale seamlessly unites all these elements for a fast-paced, unforgettable read."--Amanda Skenandore, award-winning author of The Undertaker's Assistant and Between Earth and Sky. (01/22/21)
"Beth Castrodale brings her considerable talent for prose to crime fiction in a novel layered with insight about the human experience. This fast-paced and expertly plotted literary thriller will keep you on the edge of your seat. You’ll continue to think about the richly drawn characters who inhabit the story, particularly the estranged sisters whose relationship sits at the core of the novel, long after you read the final sentence. Tense, exciting, and full of heart, I MEAN YOU NO HARM will keep you turning pages long into the night!"--Edwin Hill, Edgar- and Agatha-nominated author of Watch Her. (01/23/21)
"Filled with quiet humor and keen observations, this novel turns up the heat page by page, pushing the protagonist to her limits."--Audrey Schulman, award-winning author of Theory of Bastards and The Cage. (01/03/21)
Read more...

Lord of Order

by Brett Riley

The Purge is here. New Orleans must die. Six conflicted conspirators gird for battle, fully aware that the looming apocalypse will demand horrific choices, test their faith, and require them to join forces with their sworn enemies.
“Darkly humorous and brutal, Lord of Order takes readers on a violent gun-slinging wade through a visceral, blood-soaked swamp of human frailty and redemption ... I’ll be searching out the author’s back catalogue whilst awaiting the sequel.”—Lee Doughty, GrimDark Magazine
“A convincingly bleak vision of the future … Those who like their dystopias especially gritty will want to take a look.”Publishers Weekly
“The past is future in this sweaty, swampy, gun-slinging first cousin to dystopian classics like The Handmaid’s Tale and Fahrenheit 451. Lord of Order crackles. Grab your gear, double down on the ammo, Brett Riley’s dystopian action thriller will have you reaching for a whisky and your six-shooter.”—Stephen Scott Whitaker, National Book Critics Circle.
“Brett Riley writes hardcore action, his literary point the hypocrisy and perfidy of extremist fundamentalisms that trample all freedom and humanity.”—Douglas Unger, author of Pulitzer finalist Leaving the Land
Read more...

Comanche: A Novel

by Brett Riley

LIKE THE CYLINDER IN A SIX SHOOTER, WHAT GOES AROUND, COMES AROUND. In a tiny Texas town, a team of investigators tries to solve a string of murders that appear to be linked to a Wild West gunslinger’s brutal death two hundred years ago.
"A clever, imaginative blend of literary fiction, historical fiction, horror, dark humor, and detective procedural."— Si Dunn, Lone Star Literary Life. (10/25/2020)
"Debut novelist Riley tells a quite deliciously twisted tale. The novel is a lot of fun, with a very entertaining story and a great cast of characters."— David Pitt, Booklist. (04/10/20)
"COWBOY GHOSTS AND A MURDER MYSTERY!!!!!! I love westerns so much. Possibly the only thing I love more than westerns is a good crime fiction story. And the only thing I love more than a good crime fiction story is a legit, scare-your-pants-off ghost story. This book has it all! With different chapters taking place in different years, the reader gets to experience The Kid’s post-mortem reign of terror in two different centuries. Four Stars!"—Shannon Bollig, Bookish.in.Boston (06/30/20)
"One of the best meldings of the traditional detective novels and the supernatural that I’ve read in recent history. I really enjoyed this book. It’s more ghost adventure than detective mystery, but if that’s what you’re in the mood for, you’ll enjoy Comanche. 4-Stars"— Kristopher McClanahan, Tabletops and Tentacles -- (06/05/20)
"Brett Riley's COMANCHE is the best western-horror-thriller-ghost story-PI novel ever written. COMANCHE is a rollicking ride. Fans of Joe Lansdale and James Lee Burke, Brett Riley is the author you didn't know you loved." —Tod Goldberg, author of Gangsterland and Gangster Nation. (02/28/20)
Read more...

The Boys Who Woke Up Early

by A.D. Hopkins

Playing cops was just a game until the bullets were real. The gravy train hasn’t stopped in the hollers of western Virginia for more than thirty years when Stony Shelor starts his junior year at Jubal Early High. Class divides and racism are still the hardened norms as the Eisenhower years draw to a close. Violence lies coiled under the calm surface, ready to strike at any time.
"A deftly crafted and unfailingly engaging read of a novel from first page to last, "The Boys Who Woke Up Early" showcases author A. D. Hopkins's impressive and distinctive narrative storytelling style. Very highly recommended for community library Contemporary General Fiction collections." —Midwest Book Review (05/13/19)
"Taking place in the late 1950's in the state of Virginia, we meet small town America. There is plenty of history in this book relating to America back in the late 1950's -- KKK, racial tensions, family dynamics. I loved how author A. D. Hopkins described the dress of the kids at this era in time. Plenty of research went into this book. It also deals with family, young love, and hidden truths."—Pamela A. Poddany, Amazon Top 500 Reviewer (03/21/19)
“Carley deftly portrays easygoing Stony and his dissimilar friend Jack, a would-be detective, as the pair assist the overworked sheriff’s department. Listeners will visit the story’s warmly described rural community and enjoy its picnics, hunting, and fishing. Bootlegging, racism, and KKK activities are also part of the locale. Descriptions are so well written and rendered that listeners will feel they’re actually witnessing events.”—S.G.B, AudioFile Magazine
Read more...

Full Service Blonde: A Copper Black Mystery

by Megan Edwards

Full Service Blonde
A working girl is found dead in the desert. Can a calendar girl uncover the truth? It’s Christmastime in Sin City when aspiring journalist Copper Black meets Victoria McKimber, an outspoken prostitute at one of Nevada’s legal brothels. She’s offered Copper the exclusive right to tell her story. Not only will the Las Vegas Light’s “calendar girl” get a byline, but she can also impress her boyfriend and parents when they arrive for the holidays.
""Full Service Blonde" is an original and riveting mystery by a master of the genre. An unfailingly entertaining read replete with unexpected and narrative driven twists and turns, "Full Service Blonde" is an especially and unreservedly recommended addition to community library Mystery/Suspense collections." -- Midwest Book Review
"Readers will enjoy smart, sassy Copper as she handles family and professional crises with aplomb" -- Publisher's Weekly
Read more...

Strings: A Love Story

by Megan Edwards

Strings: A Love Story
The Merino Rose Will the Merino Rose bring the two star-crossed lovers together at last, or will their love live only in the melancholy sound of distant violins?
"Edwards’s prose glides as smoothly as Ted’s playing as she articulates how deeply teen love shapes her characters’ adult lives. Readers wanting to dwell on the melancholy of ill-timed loved will devour this beautiful novel." — Publisher's Weekly
Read more...

A Justified Bitch

by H. G. McKinnis

It takes a guilty bastard to make a justified bitch. When a severed finger shows up on her doorstep in a seedy section of Las Vegas, Helen Taylor does not freak out. She’s already crazy, as evidenced by her junk-stuffed house and its ever-growing population of cats. There’s also Bobby, her long-dead husband. Helen talks to him regularly, and Bobby talks back.
"When a mentally ill woman is the only witness to a murder, her family rallies around her even though it means running all over Las Vegas in this hard-hitting but affectionate debut...Fast-paced, funny, and gritty—the perfect read for lounging by a casino pool."— Kirkus Reviews
"A Justified Bitch” by H.G. McKinnis is great for teens, adults, and anyone who wants a great read on a lazy Sunday afternoon."—Anna Riley, Reader Views
Read more...