Fiction Titles

Lord of Order

by Brett Riley

The Purge is here. New Orleans must die. Six conflicted conspirators gird for battle, fully aware that the looming apocalypse will demand horrific choices, test their faith, and require them to join forces with their sworn enemies.
"The writing, very to-the-point, without frills or unnecessary ornaments, is really good—tight, straight, charismatic, atmospheric, drawing me in and dragging me along in a relentless pace through the whole book"—Dieter Moitzi, Goodreads.com. (08/17/20)
Read more...

Comanche: A Novel

by Brett Riley

LIKE THE CYLINDER IN A SIX SHOOTER, WHAT GOES AROUND, COMES AROUND. In a tiny Texas town, a team of investigators tries to solve a string of murders that appear to be linked to a Wild West gunslinger’s brutal death two hundred years ago.
"Debut novelist Riley tells a quite deliciously twisted tale. The novel is a lot of fun, with a very entertaining story and a great cast of characters."— David Pitt, Booklist. (04/10/20)
"COWBOY GHOSTS AND A MURDER MYSTERY!!!!!! I love westerns so much. Possibly the only thing I love more than westerns is a good crime fiction story. And the only thing I love more than a good crime fiction story is a legit, scare-your-pants-off ghost story. This book has it all! With different chapters taking place in different years, the reader gets to experience The Kid’s post-mortem reign of terror in two different centuries. Four Stars!"—Shannon Bollig, Bookish.in.Boston (06/30/20)
"One of the best meldings of the traditional detective novels and the supernatural that I’ve read in recent history. I really enjoyed this book. It’s more ghost adventure than detective mystery, but if that’s what you’re in the mood for, you’ll enjoy Comanche. 4-Stars"— Kristopher McClanahan, Tabletops and Tentacles -- (06/05/20)
"Brett Riley's COMANCHE is the best western-horror-thriller-ghost story-PI novel ever written. COMANCHE is a rollicking ride. Fans of Joe Lansdale and James Lee Burke, Brett Riley is the author you didn't know you loved." —Tod Goldberg, author of Gangsterland and Gangster Nation. (02/28/20)
"I loved this book. From the very beginning, I was immediately hooked. Stayed up all night to finish it and am glad I did! 5 Stars"—Kacee Merritt, Librarian, Lexington County Public Library, South Carolina. (02/06/20)
" A well-written action packed tale of a revenge that will not quit. Great read. 5 stars."—Cherime MacFarlane, NetGalley.com, (01/14/20)
Read more...

The Boys Who Woke Up Early

by A.D. Hopkins

Playing cops was just a game until the bullets were real. The gravy train hasn’t stopped in the hollers of western Virginia for more than thirty years when Stony Shelor starts his junior year at Jubal Early High. Class divides and racism are still the hardened norms as the Eisenhower years draw to a close. Violence lies coiled under the calm surface, ready to strike at any time.
"A deftly crafted and unfailingly engaging read of a novel from first page to last, "The Boys Who Woke Up Early" showcases author A. D. Hopkins's impressive and distinctive narrative storytelling style. Very highly recommended for community library Contemporary General Fiction collections." —Midwest Book Review (05/13/19)
"Taking place in the late 1950's in the state of Virginia, we meet small town America. There is plenty of history in this book relating to America back in the late 1950's -- KKK, racial tensions, family dynamics. I loved how author A. D. Hopkins described the dress of the kids at this era in time. Plenty of research went into this book. It also deals with family, young love, and hidden truths."—Pamela A. Poddany, Amazon Top 500 Reviewer (03/21/19)
“Carley deftly portrays easygoing Stony and his dissimilar friend Jack, a would-be detective, as the pair assist the overworked sheriff’s department. Listeners will visit the story’s warmly described rural community and enjoy its picnics, hunting, and fishing. Bootlegging, racism, and KKK activities are also part of the locale. Descriptions are so well written and rendered that listeners will feel they’re actually witnessing events.”—S.G.B, AudioFile Magazine
Read more...

Full Service Blonde: A Copper Black Mystery

by Megan Edwards

Full Service Blonde
A working girl is found dead in the desert. Can a calendar girl uncover the truth? It’s Christmastime in Sin City when aspiring journalist Copper Black meets Victoria McKimber, an outspoken prostitute at one of Nevada’s legal brothels. She’s offered Copper the exclusive right to tell her story. Not only will the Las Vegas Light’s “calendar girl” get a byline, but she can also impress her boyfriend and parents when they arrive for the holidays.
""Full Service Blonde" is an original and riveting mystery by a master of the genre. An unfailingly entertaining read replete with unexpected and narrative driven twists and turns, "Full Service Blonde" is an especially and unreservedly recommended addition to community library Mystery/Suspense collections." -- Midwest Book Review
"Readers will enjoy smart, sassy Copper as she handles family and professional crises with aplomb" -- Publisher's Weekly
Read more...

Strings: A Love Story

by Megan Edwards

Strings: A Love Story
The Merino Rose Will the Merino Rose bring the two star-crossed lovers together at last, or will their love live only in the melancholy sound of distant violins?
"Edwards’s prose glides as smoothly as Ted’s playing as she articulates how deeply teen love shapes her characters’ adult lives. Readers wanting to dwell on the melancholy of ill-timed loved will devour this beautiful novel." — Publisher's Weekly
Read more...

A Justified Bitch

by H. G. McKinnis

It takes a guilty bastard to make a justified bitch. When a severed finger shows up on her doorstep in a seedy section of Las Vegas, Helen Taylor does not freak out. She’s already crazy, as evidenced by her junk-stuffed house and its ever-growing population of cats. There’s also Bobby, her long-dead husband. Helen talks to him regularly, and Bobby talks back.
"When a mentally ill woman is the only witness to a murder, her family rallies around her even though it means running all over Las Vegas in this hard-hitting but affectionate debut...Fast-paced, funny, and gritty—the perfect read for lounging by a casino pool."— Kirkus Reviews
"A Justified Bitch” by H.G. McKinnis is great for teens, adults, and anyone who wants a great read on a lazy Sunday afternoon."—Anna Riley, Reader Views
Read more...

Getting off on Frank Sinatra: A Copper Black Mystery

by Megan Edwards

Getting off on Frank Sinatra
A scorching Las Vegas summer is about to get even hotter. Aspiring journalist Copper Black has just found out that her boyfriend is responsible for his not-quite-ex-wife’s pregnancy. An unexpected house-sitting job at a notorious Las Vegas “party house” should provide not only a pool with a swim-up bar but also much-needed distraction.
"Edwards makes an assured fiction debut. This amusing mystery stars aspiring journalist Copper Black, a contributor to a Las Vegas newspaper, who must navigate a multitude of personal and professional hurdles...Copper learns enough secrets to make deadly enemies before emerging bruised, battered, victorious, and primed for new comic adventures."— Publisher's Weekly
"Copper's debut has enough pizzazz to make readers want to try just one more roll of the dice.”— Kirkus Reviews
Read more...

Purchase Getting off on Frank Sinatra: A Copper Black Mystery